Sign up for the Sustainable Travel Awards at the Vakantiebeurs Trade Days

On Wednesday 10 January, during the ANVR event Changes in Tourism at the Vakantiebeurs Trade Days, we will be announcing the nominees for the Sustainable Travel Award.

In this special UN year of Sustainable Tourism we are looking for companies or organisations who can demonstrate projects, initiatives, products and/or destinations which focus on making tourism and travelling more sustainable. Are you a company or organisation who can show a positive contribution to the development of sustainability? Register for the Sustainable Travel Award.

The ‘Sustainable Travel Award’ is an initiative of the ANVR and Trav Magazine, in collaboration with the Vakantiebeurs and MVO Netwerk Toerisme. This year, the ‘Sustainable Travel Award’ will get special attention, as it is the UN International Year of Sustainable Tourism. In 2018, the national sustainability award in the travel industry will be awarded during a festive ceremony during the Travel Gala on 27 January 2018. Prior to the award ceremony, TravMagazine will publish articles on a number of contenders, to inspire as many other companies and organisations in the travel sector as possible to take part in this competition.

Any party within the travel sector or a related industry can participate. From educational institutions, travel agencies, accommodations, transport companies, excursion providers to destinations and ICT companies. The entries will be assessed by a jury on the basis of a number of criteria. The jury will look at, for instance, the extent to which the project has made or makes a positive contribution to society as a whole, nature and the environment, business, the local community, communication, its influence on behaviour (e.g. employees, suppliers, partners, guests, destination authorities), its practical applicability and the importance for the industry, aspects of innovation and quality.

The jury for the ‘Sustainable Travel Award’ consists of Bernedine Bos (Head of programming and projects MVO Nederland), Mirjam Dresmé (Head of communication ANVR), Louis Frankenhuis (travel entrepreneur), Theo de Reus (editor-in-chief TravMagazine and chair of the jury), and Carinha Uytterhoeven (Business Unit Manager Education, Travel, Healthcare and Leisure, Jaarbeurs).

In addition to the public vote, there are a total of 6 jury votes to be won. The jury will determine which of the nominated initiatives will be on the shortlist to win this year’s ‘Sustainable Travel Award’. Following the publication, the public also gets time to vote via a poll on The winner of the poll gets an extra jury vote. This extra jury vote shall be taken into account in the final round of voting.

The winner of the Sustainable Travel Award will be announced on Saturday 27 January 2018, during the Travel Gala, organised by TravMagazine.